a self-absorbed travelogue

Chapter 22: Letter from the Front

I know it has been a long time since my last blog post, but I assure you it was not for lack of trying. Whenever I felt the urge to write something, I didn’t have the time to do so. When I did have the time, I was asleep. Much has happened since the March thaw set in and the project is humming along. We are currently on a week break, which is why I finally have the time to sit down and write a little bit about what we have been up to.

News since my last post:

1) On April 16th, we moved into a new apartment in a house near the Vani Museum. We are able to hold more people here and it offers better access to the resources of the museum. We had DSL internet hooked up soon after and are now fully connected to the world outside Vani. The internet has also allowed me to back up our computer data on both Dropbox and Google Drive. All our GIS data is stored on Dropbox and our photos are auto uploaded from Picasa 3 into Google Drive. It’s pretty sweet and I go to bed with peace of mind that not everything will be lost if the unthinkable happens.

2) We have surveyed two 4km2 grid squares with both intensive and extensive survey. We have started in our third and should be done with it by the middle of June. Hopefully we can complete two more grids giving us a total of 7 grids. My heart was set on 8, but the enormity of this task is beginning to set in.

3) We have adopted three puppies which we found abandoned while on survey. Though we enjoy their company, we are beginning the process of finding them homes. Taking care of three puppies, a house full of students and keeping my own sanity has proven to be a bit more challenging than I had hoped.

4) I have not cut my hair since I left the US. Though I have lived with curly hair my entire life, I have never really experienced the full force of its curliness. That is, until now. How do people live like this? I now totally understand all the curly hair jokes they made on 30 Rock. Curly hair is a curse.

5) I am quickly running out of clothes. I brought three pairs of jeans with me and two of them are almost completely destroyed. My socks are blowing out at the rate of two pair a week. I am actually going to buy some more today. The biggest problem is that my boots are almost completely destroyed. They are only two years old, but Georgia and really done a number on them. At this rate I will be returning to the US in athletic shorts and a I “heart” Tbilisi t-shirt.

That’s the news for now. I apologize for the lack of photos, but it takes way too long to upload them (read 1 hour per photo) and I don’t currently have the time necessary. Sorry, mom!

I hope everyone out there is doing peachy. In two days, we dive back into the second half of the season. I hope it is even more successful than the first half.

Leave a Reply

